Now Reading
8 Union Territories of India

8 Union Territories of India

Union Territories of India

Recently, in 2019, India established two more Union Territories by separating Ladakh from Jammu & Kashmir. Did you know about it?

Well, we didn’t! So, in this blog we’ll know about the 8 Union Territories of India: their date of establishment, capitals and official languages.

  1.   Andaman & Nicobar Islands
  • Received its UT status on 1 November 1956.
  • Its state capital is Port Blair. The Judicial Capital is Kolkata.
  • Official Languages are Hindi and English.
  1.   Chandigarh
  • On 1 November 1966, Chandigarh became one of the 8 Union Territories of India.
  • Its capital is Chandigarh itself as it is also a city-state of Punjab and Haryana.
  • Official language is English.
  1.   Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu (DNHDD)
  • In December 2019, Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu merged into a single Union Territory.
  • The Capital of DNHDD is Daman. Earlier the capital of Dadra and Nagar Haveli was Silvassa.
  • The Judicial Capital of this Union Territory of India is Mumbai.

4.  Delhi

  • The National Capital Territory of India (NCT) Delhi is the city-state and one of the 8 UTs of India.
  • The Capital of Delhi is New Delhi.
  • The Official Language of Delhi is Hindi.
  1.   Lakshadweep
  • On 1 November 1956, Lakshadweep became a UT of India.
  • Its capital is Kavaratti. The Judicial Capital of it is Kochi.
  • The official language of this UT is English. Though Malayalam is also recognized.
  1.   Puducherry
  • Pondicherry became a  UT on 16 August 1962.
  • Its capital is Pondicherry. The Judicial Capital of Pondicherry is Chennai.
  • The official languages are English and Tamil.
  1.   Jammu & Kashmir
  • J&K recently became a Union Territory of India, on 31 October 2019.
  • Its capital is Srinagar in summers and Jammu in winters.
  • The official language of this UT is Urdu.
Jammu Kashmir

via britannica 

  1.   Ladakh
  • Separated from Jammu & Kashmir on 31 October 2019, Ladakh became a Union Territory.
  • Its capitals are Leh in summers and Kargil during the winters.
  • Its official languages are Hindi and English.

Were you aware that Delhi is not a state but one of the 8 Union Territories of India?

Blog Edited By Ritika Gupta

For more India  related blogs click here.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

© 2021 Desichalchitra. All Rights Reserved.

Scroll To Top